Circuit Court Judges

image_50424321Congratulations to Judge Lee J. Howard IV as he steps into retirement. He has presided as Senior Circuit Judge of the 16th District for thirty-two and a half years. He has served the 16th District with honor, distinction, and dedication. We hope you enjoy the life ahead.

~ Oktibbeha County

The Oktibbeha County Circuit Court is part of the 16th Circuit Court District that also includes Lowndes, Clay, and Noxubee Counties. There are three circuit court judges that handle cases (both civil and criminal) in circuit court.

  • Lee J. Howard
  • James T. Kitchens
  • Lee S. Coleman

By statute, circuit court meets in Oktibbeha county four times per year.

  • 4th Monday in January
  • 3rd Monday in April
  • 4th Monday in July
  • 3rd Monday in October

Other motion days and special court sessions are held by order of the circuit judge as needed.

The Oktibbeha County Grand Jury meets twice a year unless recalled by special order of the Circuit Judge