Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Traffic tickets from the Oktibbeha County Sheriff's Department, the Mississippi State Highway Patrol, and Mississippi State University (MSU) Campus Police may be paid for at the Oktibbeha County Justice Court.
View a list of fines for speeding violations for the amount to be paid for speeding violations. Bring your payment to the Oktibbeha County Justice Court.
Payments must be made with cash or money order. No checks or credit cards accepted.
Show All Answers
A Privilege License is a license allowing a person to do business in Oktibbeha County for a profit. Please contact the Tax Assessor/Collector's office at 662-323-1273 for more information.
CodeRED is a web-based critical communication solution that enables local public safety personnel to notify residents and businesses by telephone, text message, email, and social media of time-sensitive information, emergencies, or urgent notifications. The system can reach hundreds of thousands of individuals in minutes to ensure information such as evacuation notices, missing persons, inclement weather advisories, and more are quickly shared. Only authorized officials have access to send alerts using the CodeRED system.
Please email damage reports and/or pictures or call 662-320-7250 or 662-320-7251. As always if you are need of immediate assistance, please call 911.
The county measures the right-of-way 50 feet from the center of the road to each side of the road. If within those 50 feet the entrance of your drive is the first 5 or 10 feet, the county will gravel. Anything outside of those 50 feet is illegal. *If your drive is an official bus turnaround then the rule is different.
The Golden Triangle Planning and Development District located at 106 Miley Drive in Starkville is where you will get your address.
You must first have an address, and then you may contact the road department at 662-323-5752. Be sure to have the area marked with stakes or flags where you would like your culvert.
We are always looking for enthusiastic individuals, who have a strong desire to serve their community. A great way to join, is to visit your local fire station during a training session. If you are unsure which district you are in, need the meeting times, or just have questions before joining; send an email to the Fire Department Recruitment team.
The Oktibbeha County Fire Department does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, age, or disability in the provision of our programs or services.
Oktibbeha County firefighters are trained in basic first aid and CPR and some are trained emergency medical technicians. The trucks are equipped with first aid and lifesaving equipment. Fire stations are located throughout the county and can usually get to an emergency scene first to begin to administer aid until an ambulance arrives.
The training provided to Oktibbeha County Firefighters, is very similar to what you would expect from a career/paid fire department, this is because the hazards volunteer firefighters face are no different. The differences are in how our classes are taught. We typically 99% of our classes are taught here in Oktibbeha County, and our instructors work with the students to try to minimize the impact to their work or school schedules. We do however pride ourselves on professionalism, and all of our instructors are certified to the national standard level relating to instruction (NFPA 1041).
Typical courses include basic fire fighting, emergency medical training, the incident command system and hazardous material response. Our more advanced courses are geared towards technical rescue, advanced firefighting skills, and development of future management. While we bring most of our training here to Oktibbeha County, additional training is provided at the State Fire Academy, the National Fire Academy, and several other accredited institutions. Oktibbeha County Firefighters do not pay for any of their training or equipment.
Oktibbeha County functions under a volunteer system. Members are not paid, however they currently receive a reimbursement for expenses based upon how much an individual participates. The reimbursement is funded by a federal grant. All of our members equipment and training are provided at no cost to the individual.
Applicants must be 18 years of age, and posses a valid drivers license. Background checks are conducted by the Oktibbeha County Sheriff's Department, and are required of all new applicants.
Information about the Oktibbeha County Justice Court can be found on the Justice Court Department page.
Also, check out this document listing what the Justice Clerk's Office can and cannot do for you.
Passport hours are 8 am until 4:30 pm only.You will need:
It takes four to six weeks for normal process. If needed sooner, you can expedite by adding an additional $60. The process will then take two to three weeks.
The Circuit Clerk's Office only takes payment for felonies.
We do not take payments for seat belt violations or for proof of insurance.
Both parties need to be present with valid photo identification along with a total of $37.
You no longer need blood work, and the license is issued on the same day.
You should call 311 to request city services and information. Examples of typical 311 calls include:
More information about 311.
You may register to vote either by mail or by visiting the Circuit Clerk (Circuit Court Annex Building) or Municipal Clerk (usually City Hall).
You may also register to vote when applying for or renewing your driver's license or when applying for services at numerous state and federal government agencies.
Download the Voter Registration Form (PDF).
You have to be 21 years old to be selected for jury duty.
You can register to vote at the age of 17 only if you will be 18 by election day.
All marriage licenses are issued by the Circuit Court Clerk in the Oktibbeha County Circuit Court Complex at 108 West Main Street. You must have a picture identification. You must be 21 years of age to apply for a marriage license without parental consent, and both parties must be present to apply. If you are under the age of 21, you must have notarized authorization from the parent or the parent needs to be present.
Search Oktibbeha Marriage Records online.
Residential Mississippi license plates may be obtained throughout the year from the Tax Office in the Oktibbeha County Courthouse. Residents have 30 days after establishing residency to secure car tags.
View information about specialty plates.
Property tax facts, as well as information on Homestead and other exemptions, may be obtained from the Oktibbeha County Tax Assessor/Collector.
Details about Property Assessment and an online Property Tax Search are also available.
The state levies a 7% sales tax, 2% of which is returned to the municipality on all sales within the corporate limits of the municipality. Additionally, the city has a 2% food and beverage tax and a 2% hotel/motel tax.For more information, visit the Mississippi Department of Revenue website.
Licenses are available for purchase at most sporting goods stores and variety stores.
The Veterans Service Office can assist you with a copy in the Chancery Clerk's Office, or you can contact the Chancery Clerk's Office directly.
The Board of Supervisors meets the first Monday of each month at the Oktibbeha County Courthouse on 101 E Main Street in Starkville.
Section 19-13-11 of the Mississippi Code Annotated states:
In counties having only one court district, the board of supervisors shall hold regular meetings at the courthouse or in the chancery clerk's office in those counties where the chancery clerk's office is in a building separate from the courthouse. However, the board of supervisors may meet in any other county-owned building if such building is located within one mile of the courthouse and if, more than 30 days prior to changing the meeting place, the board posts a conspicuous, permanent notice to that effect in the chancery clerk's office and in one other place in the courthouse, publishes notice thereof in a newspaper published in the county, or if there be no newspaper published in the county, then in a newspaper having general circulation in the county, once each week, for at least three consecutive weeks, and enters an order upon its minutes designating and describing in full the building and room to be used as the meeting room of the board of supervisors. The board of supervisors shall meet on the first Monday of each month. However, when such meeting date falls on a legal holiday, then the said meeting shall be held on the succeeding day.
The minutes of the Boards of Supervisors can be found in the Chancery Clerk Office.
All old appliances, old furniture, and/or batteries are to be taken to the rubbish landfill located on North Montgomery Street right at the city limits line (the beginning of Rockhill Road). You can reach the landfill at 662-324-1180 for more information.
If there is an emergency road hazard please dial 911 and report the emergency otherwise, contact the Oktibbeha County Road Department via email or at 662-323-5752.
In the Chancery Clerk’s Office, or you may search the land redemption records online.
The office accepts cash, checks made payable to Oktibbeha County Chancery Clerk, and money orders made payable to Oktibbeha County Chancery Clerk.
Documents are recorded at the time they are received in the Chancery Clerk's Office. They are available for viewing by the public the next day.
There are different requirements depending on the type of document, so they all cannot be listed here. It is the responsibility of the person offering the document for recording to make sure:
Fees for copies made by the public are $0.25 per page. The fee for copies made by our staff is $0.50 per page. There is an additional fee for certifying a copy of a document. Requests for copies sent by mail must be accompanied by check or money order covering the cost of the copies and a stamped self-addressed envelope. The request should reasonably identify the document to be copied. Checks should be made payable to the Oktibbeha County Chancery Clerk.
The following are just a few of the records housed in the Chancery Clerk Office:
Yes, land records are available for public inspection from 8 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday.
Land records refer to those record series that may involve real estate. These include documents traditionally recorded in Deed Books and Plat Cabinets, such as Deeds, Deeds of Trust, Authorities to Cancel, Plats, Oil and Gas Leases, and many other documents. The Land Records Division also dockets and indexes judgments and files certain Uniform Commercial Code transactions that are a lien on real estate.
At the Chancery Clerk's Office via cash, money order, or check.
Contact the Chancery Clerk's Office at 662-323-5834.
Civil cases involving amounts greater than $3,500.00 are filed in the Oktibbeha County Chancery Court.
For civil cases involving less than that amount, download a Civil Declaration (PDF) and file it with the Oktibbeha County Justice Court.
Teenage drug and alcohol abuse affects families in every part of Oktibbeha County regardless of location, race, or economic status. The Mississippi Department of Human Services - Division of Youth Services can assist families in identifying treatment options. In addition to referral to treatment facilities, the Youth Court offers a Juvenile Drug Court program consisting of intensive supervision, counseling, and drug testing. For more information, contact the Mississippi Department of Human Services - Division of Youth Services at 662-323-8564.
The Oktibbeha County Youth Court functions to assist families who have children with conduct issues that are disruptive to the home, school, or community. In some cases, the Oktibbeha County Office of Youth Services can offer informal counseling to the child and family. In other cases, it may be necessary to refer the family for psychiatric or psychological intervention. There will be instances when the Youth Court will bring the child into court for adjudication and probation. For further information, contact the Mississippi Department of Human Services - Division of Youth Services at 662-323-8654 or the Oktibbeha County Chancery Clerk's Office. If your child is between the ages of 10 and 17, you may contact these offices for assistance: